Wolf Den

Cubbing, as Cubs Scouts was first known, started in the United States in 1930. However, it was in 1916 when cubbing frist started. Baden-Powell (founder of The Boy Scouts Accociation) published The Wolf Cub Handbook and the Wolf Cubbing program began in England. The Wolf Cubbing program migrated and in 1918, the first unofficial Wolf Cub packs started to appear in the United States. The Boy Scouts of America didn't officially start piloting Cubbing units until 1928. In 1930, the Boy Scouts of America officially adopted cubbing and began registering packs. The original program was for boys age 9 to 11. They would begin with Bobcat and work their way up through the ranks (Wolf, Bear, and Lion), in that order. Tiger rank did not exist at the time. And, it didn't matter if they started at 9 or 11 yrs old, all cubs had to follow the same path. The first wolf rank badge had Cubs BSA embroidered on it, was made of felt, and had wide borders.

A boy or girl that is 7-8 years old or is in the second grade joins Cub Scouting as a Wolf. As a Wolf, your son or daughter will be part of a group of boys or girls of their same sex and age called a Den, they can earn recognition for their accomplishments. They will also gain a sense of personal achievement from the new skills they learn.

All new Cub Scouts (exception Lions), must first earn their Bobcat rank before they can be awarded their Tiger, Wolf, Bear, or Webelos rank. After completing the requirements for Bobcat, they may go on to complete the requirements and electives that are offered for their rank. The Bobcat requirements serve to orient a new Scout to the ideals and symbols of Scouting.

Boys work with less assistance from their adult partner(s) during Den Meetins and outings; However, at least one adult partner is required to be present.

The Program
Each Den meeting and Den activity is led by a team of adult volunteers - the Den Leader and Assistant Den Leader(s). Dens have six to eight boys or girls and meet two to three times a month. Dens are seperated by sex.

Rank Advancement and Adventures
As a Wolf, your son or daughter will work toward earning the Wolf rank. The Wolf advancement program is a blend of activities that boys and girls complete in their den meetings as well as at home with their families.

In addition to earning the Bobcat rank, a Scout must complete the following to earn the Wolf Rank:
  1. Complete each of these six required adventures:
    • Call of the Wild
    • Council Fire (Duty to Country)
    • Duty to God Footsteps
    • Howling at the Moon
    • Paws on the Path
    • Running With the Pack
  2. In addition to the six required adventures listed above, Scouts must complete at least one elective adventure of your den’s or family’s choosing.
  3. With your parent, guardian, or other caring adult, Scouts must also complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide.
  4. Finally, Scouts must also earn the Cyber Chip award for their age. (The Cyber Chip portion of this requirement may be waived by your parent or guardian if you do not have access to the internet.)
The uniform for the Wolves consists of:
  • Blue class “A” shirt - Required
    • Worn at Den meetins, Pack meetings and other official BSA events
  • The official navy-blue web belt with metal buckle - Required
    • Needed to place belt-loops.
  • Patches (Council Strip, World Crest, Den #, Pack # [200]) - Required
  • Wolf Handbook - Required
  • Neckerchief and slide - Required
    • The Pack provides the Neckerchief
    • The slide does not have to be the metal-rank-specific-BSA slide.
  • Official uniform pants, shorts, or skorts, and Cub Scout socks - Optional
    • Not required by the Pack