Bear Den

In the beginning, Bears were for 10 year old boys. Later changed to 3rd Grade boys in 1986 when Cub Scouting was expanded to cover all elementary school grades. The first rank badges had Cubs BSA embroidered on them, were made of felt, and had wide borders.

A boy or girl that is 8-9 years old or is in the 3rd grade joins Cub Scouting as a Bear. As a Bear, your son or daughter will be part of a group of boys or girls of their same sex and age called a Den, he can earn recognition for his accomplishments. He will also gain a sense of personal achievement from the new skills he learns.

All new Cub Scouts (exception Lions), must first earn their Bobcat rank before they can be awarded their Tiger, Wolf, Bear, or Webelos rank. After completing the requirements for Bobcat, they may go on to complete the requirements and electives that are offered for their rank. The Bobcat requirements serve to orient a new Scout to the ideals and symbols of Scouting.

Bear Scouts have enough knowledge and skill to take on more work by themselves during Den Meetings and Outings and require little assistance from their adult partner(s); However, at least one adult partner is required to be present.

The Program
Each Den meeting and Den activity is led by a team of adult volunteers - the Den Leader and Assistant Den Leader(s). Dens have six to eight boys or girls and meet two to three times a month. Dens are seperated by sex.

Rank Advancement and Adventures
As a Bear, your son or daughter will work toward earning the Bear rank. The Bear advancement program is a blend of activities that boys and girls complete in their den meetings as well as at home with their families.

In addition to earning the Bobcat rank, a Scout must complete the following to earn the Bear Rank:
  1. Complete each of these six required adventures:
    • Bear Claws
    • Bear Necessities
    • Fellowship and Duty to God
    • Fur, Feathers, and Ferns
    • Baloo the Builder
    • Paws for Action
  2. In addition to the six required adventures listed above, Scouts must complete at least one elective adventure of your den’s or family’s choosing.
  3. With your parent, guardian, or other caring adult, Scouts must also complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide.
  4. Finally, Scouts must also earn the Cyber Chip award for their age. (The Cyber Chip portion of this requirement may be waived by your parent or guardian if you do not have access to the internet.)
The uniform for the Bears consists of:
  • Blue class “A” shirt - Required
    • Worn at Den meetins, Pack meetings and other official BSA events
  • The official navy-blue web belt with metal buckle - Required
    • Needed to place belt-loops.
  • Patches (Council Strip, World Crest, Den #, Pack # [200]) - Required
  • Bear Handbook - Required
  • Neckerchief and slide - Required
    • The Pack provides the Neckerchief
    • The slide does not have to be the metal-rank-specific-BSA slide.
  • Official uniform pants, shorts, or skorts, and Cub Scout socks - Optional
    • Not required by the Pack