Arrow of Light Den

When the grade-based rank system was implemented in 1986, Webelos Scouts became a two year program aimed at 4th and 5th graders. 4th graders generally work towards the Webelos rank, and 5th graders work towards the Arrow of Light rank. A 5th grader must have been active in a Webelos den for at least six months since completing the fourth grade or for at least six months since becoming 10 years old before they can join the Arrow of Light Den. See the Webelos Den for more info.

The Arrow program (Formerly Webelos 2) is the second part of the Webelos program. It is the highest rank in Cub Scouting and the only Cub Scout badge that a Scout can wear on their Boy Scout uniform. As a scout works towards the Arrow of Light rank, they will practice outdoor skills, get physically fit, and learn more about citizenship and working with others. This is the final grade/age group before scouts transition to Boy Scouts. During our Blue and Gold Ceremony in February, Arrows will officially gradute from Cub Scouts.

The Program
Each Den meeting and Den activity is led by a team of adult volunteers - the Den Leader and Assistant Den Leader(s). Dens have six to eight boys or girls and meet two to three times a month. Dens are seperated by sex.

Rank Advancement and Adventures
As an Arrow, your son will work toward earning the Arrow rank. The Arrow advancement program is a blend of activities that scouts complete in their den meetings as well as at home with their families.

To earn the Arrow rank, A Scout must complete the following:
  1. Earn the Bobcat rank
  2. Be active in their Webelos den for at least six months since completing the fourth grade or for at least six months since becoming 10 years old.
  3. Complete each of these four required adventures:
    • Building a Better World
    • Duty to God in Action
    • Outdoorsman (formerly Camper)—Option A (including a campout) OR Option B(including an outdoor activity)
    • Scouting Adventure
  4. In addition to the six required adventures listed above, Scouts must complete at least one elective adventure of your den’s or family’s choosing.
  5. With your parent, guardian, or other caring adult, Scouts must also complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide.
  6. Finally, Scouts must also earn the Cyber Chip award for their age. (The Cyber Chip portion of this requirement may be waived by your parent or guardian if you do not have access to the internet.)
The uniform for the Arrows consists of:
  • The Tan class “A” shirt with blue lapels - Required
  • Neckerchief slide (Pack provides the Neckerchief) - Required
  • Patches (Council Strip, World Crest, Den #, Pack # [200] - Required)
  • Webelo Handbook - Required
    • Arrows and Webelos use the same book since it is an 18 month program
  • Colors and/or hat - Required
    • Arrows do not earn belt-loops. They earn pins that can either be displayed on the Arrows hat or colors. The Arrows hat is the same as the Webelos hat
  • Green Belt with Webelos Buckle - Optional
    • Webelos can wear any belt since they do not earn belt loops. However, they are encouraged to wear the green belt with the Webelos buckle.
  • Official uniform pants, shorts, or skorts, and Cub Scout socks - Optional
    • Not required by the Pack